If you're a Texan, I'm sure you're aware of how hard the entire state was hit last week due to winter weather conditions that paralyzed citizens in many ways, including issues involving water, power, structural damage, hazardous driving conditions, health problems and more. Today, FEMA announced some good news for residents, including those in Tom Green County.

Governor Greg Abbott on Tuesday said that the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has approved an additional 31 Texas counties to be added to the President's Major Disaster Declaration for Individual Assistance. The governor originally requested Individual Assistance for all 254 Texas counties on February 13th.

On February 20th, the White House partially approved Texas' request for a Major Disaster Declaration. The partial approval included Individual Assistance in 77 counties, and for Public Assistance (Emergency Protective Measures Only) in all 254 counties.

Additional counties will continue to be re-requested as the State of Texas continues to receive information reported from individuals who have suffered damage from the winter storm. Texans are urged to fill out the Texas Division of Emergency Management's Texas Individual Assistance Reporting Tool (TIART) to help the state identify damages across Texas and help emergency management officials gain an understanding of damages that occurred during the recent winter weather.

98.7 Kiss FM logo
Get our free mobile app

FEMA has asked the state of Texas for additional information regarding the amount of damage in the counties that have yet to be declared, and TDEM will continue to present that information until all Texas counties that qualify for federal assistance receive the assistance they need.

"I thank FEMA for their swift approval of these additional counties and for their continued partnership as we ensure Texans have access to relief following the winter storm," said Governor Abbott. "I urge Texans to use the Texas Individual Assistance Reporting Tool so that the state can continue to identify damages and fight for the crucial assistance that our communities need."

Counties included in this approval are Anderson, Austin, Bosque, Bowie, Burnet, Cherokee, Colorado, Erath, Fannin, Freestone, Gonzales, Grayson, Gregg, Harrison, Hill, Houston, Hunt, Jackson, Jim Wells, Jones, Limestone, Lubbock, Medina, Milam, Navarro, Rusk, Taylor, Tom Green, Val Verde, Washington, Wood.

For more information, click here.

Be watching for updates as more counties are added to the Texas Disaster Declaration. We will continue to update you as we get more information to pass on to you.

See the Must-Drive Roads in Every State


More From 98.7 Kiss FM